PDA

View Full Version : Mowing crew pay: Commission or hourly?

CHC
02-08-2001, 09:47 PM
Has anyone had any success with using a commission scale or piece work to pay mowing crews; as opposed to hourly wages. If so, what sort of percentages or rate schedule do you suggest. Thanks for any help.

zimm4
02-10-2001, 10:34 AM
Im new to this business. But I would think there would be A possability of poor work. If the guys get min A hurry to make A buck. The quality may suffer. Just my opinion.

thelawnguy
02-10-2001, 02:18 PM
What happens on a callback? Can you legally have them redo the lawn for free? Or charge back to them?

I would think a bonus for exemplary work would be a better option.

kutnkru
02-10-2001, 02:57 PM
The only time that I paid someone on a per cut basis was my younger brother worked with me one summer when I first started out on my own. I paid him $4 per lawn for 50 lawns. we cut about 12-13 a day.

I would have to agree with Bill that the bonus check for exemplary work is the way to go. Afterall at 4$ a cut if they are too tired the might skip it.

Just my .02
Kris

LoneStarLawn
02-10-2001, 03:05 PM
I think the hardest thing to look at is if you have hourly workers will they milk the clock. My partner actually worked for some one else many years ago and the people he worked with would milk the clock to get overtime each day. Just something to think about.

CHC
02-10-2001, 03:21 PM
Thanks for the input. The reason we are looking at a pay system other than hourly, is that we know the crews are milking clock. Our feeling is that they might work better/faster if their time is their own. If they milk a $40. lawn for an hour, they still get paid an hourly rate; if they do it on a per cut or commision basis, and get it done - to standard - in 1/2 an hour they actually make more $$. I know that this concept has been kicked around a good bit by the CLIP people - just wondering if anyone has actually tried it. Thanks again

thelawnguy
02-10-2001, 03:41 PM