PDA

View Full Version : Sod cutters

Kelly's Landscaping
03-22-2005, 08:03 PM
What brands of sod cutters are out there? I only know of 3 and feel I would like more choices before I make a decision. I have put this off for 2 years but it bites me every spring and itís to the point now where I just cannot skip it any more. I have rented Ryan in the past and been totally disgusted with the ones I got the last one we gave up on after more then and hour of trying to get it started needless to say that cost me more then 25 man hours because of that. Had sod already ordered so I had to do the area by hand had no choice. So I have found in saved time it will probably pay for its self for me in just the month of May. I am leaning towards bluebird but just donít have enough info to go on. Also I do not know the cost of any of these items never bought one nor do I know someone who has.

Del9175
03-23-2005, 11:20 AM
I have some limited experience with both the Ryan and Bluebird. I prefer the Bluebird by far. It was a lot easier it use. From what I have seen online, the bluebirds are upwards of $3,000 for and 18".

Down in Florida, the Home Depot rental deptartment sells their used equipment every couple of years. Their sod cutters get very limitied use from what I can tell and the prices are usually pretty good. If you defiantely want new, they can also get you a brand new one.

I'm not sure if they all do this, but the ones down here do. This is just something to consider.

Itsgottobegreen
03-23-2005, 12:25 PM
In agree with del9175

Blue birds are easier to use.

steve in Pa.
03-23-2005, 10:11 PM