PDA

View Full Version : Open Trailers

JonM
03-24-2005, 10:08 PM
I read every thread possible on here, and very rarely post. I cannot say how much information I have found and how much knowledge I have gained from Lawnsite. Now for my question. I hope I've posted this in the right section, but, here it goes. I have mowed lawns before, but this is my first year as a legitimate business... registered and insured, no licenses required in NH for mowing as far as I know. I sold my car and put the money towards an '05 Chevy Silverado 2500HD 4x4. I currently have a 5x8 trailer, but it seems dwarfed by the truck, and backing up can be tricky. I see a lot of your set ups, and was hoping for some recommendations. I'm looking at maybe a 12' or 14' single axle, I wont need much more for right now. What brands do you recommend? I see the ones with the mesh storage box on the front, who makes them? I'm looking for a sturdy trailer that can hold my Exmark Metro 36 and trimmer and blower, but still give me some room to grow. There are a few dealers nearby who have CarMate and Big Tex. What would you recommend?

If this has been asked before, I apologize, I did a search but didnt turn up too much. Thanks again! Jon :)

BSDeality
03-24-2005, 10:25 PM
let the 5x8 make you money to save up enough for a new/used larger trailer. You'll get the hang of manuevering the 5x8 in no-time.

big tex makes some nice (read $$) trailers. Don't be afraid to buy a used one, there's not much to a trailer, so they're simple to fix, upgrade, etc. Think about electric brakes too. you never know when you might need them.

Tractor Supply carries those mesh boxes, there are a few companys that make their own versions as well. try searching for trailer box or cargo box, etc.

Jamesgateslandscaping
03-24-2005, 10:41 PM
I live in Amherst, I have a 6x10 with steal sides for sale for $400. The trailer is a tilt with tail gate (no ramps). Interested?
Thanks
James

jajwrigh
03-26-2005, 02:19 AM