PDA

View Full Version : Bidding Question

gilllawnservice
04-04-2005, 05:54 PM
I am submitting a bid that to me seems high. I'm new to the landscaping part of things but I am convinced that is where the money is. I have yet to land a job but I have utilized all the tools and have phoned around asking for labor rates and this seems to be about the average.

I have an area close to the street and between the sidewalk which I need to excavate, cover with weed fab, and plant 12 Coral Bells (2 gal), 12 Ornamental Grass (5 gal), 12 Purple Sage (3 gal), 5 Cub Yds of Redwood Mulch, and 3 tons of 2" rock.

The front of the house requires me to remove the current block edge, install the rock and reinstall the brick pavers (existing).

Materials alone are at $1615.00

I figured about 15 hours of work @ $55 an hour. (Is this to high?)

Total for the job is $2545.35

Any input you guys can provide would be great.

Thanks

JG

nocutting
04-04-2005, 06:20 PM
Hi, in my area its not uncommon to double the cost of the materials [ usally on larger jobs and kick in another 15-20% for error?.......That seems like apretty easy job [ a day job?]...considering your not getting many jobs , maybe giveing a flat rate for labour wouldnt kill you?....What sounds fair, $600 for your trouble? and you may get another job on the street if this one comes out as nice as it sounds- regards Saxon payup

urbanlandscape
04-04-2005, 07:28 PM
Assuming you are buying your materials wholesale, or least with a discount "to the trade", mark your materials at least up to the local retail price. I think your price sounds fair. My area is mostly high end, and I would consider that a reasonable labor estimate, but with a material markup. If you want the work and you are in a less affluent area, than by all means, lower your labor price a bit. But make sure you mark up your materials. We don't get a discount so that it can be passed on to homeowners, it's so we can stay in business. Good luck.

sheshovel