PDA

View Full Version : Drain

packerbacker
04-05-2005, 05:12 PM
Im doing an install on one and this is my first time doing it so I need some help with something.

The drain is going to be running from the corner of the yard directly down a hill. Im putting the basin in the corner of the yard. Trenching a line all the way down the hill, putting gravel down, laying the pipe in and putting gravel on top. Im stopping about halfway down to "tee" on to a gutter.

The question I have is where does the drain pipe stop? Does the hose need to go all the way to the street, which would be under a sidewalk or can it be buried and the water soaks in once it goes down the line stopping before the sidewalk?

Thanks in advance.

Popper357
04-06-2005, 01:52 AM
Personally, I don't see why you would put gravel under and on top of a drain pipe used in this case. Gravel is used to keep the water flowing into a french drain or perforated pipe, and you wouldn't use perf pipe on a decent slope since water is directed already. Sounds like your installing a drain to move water out of a low spot or out of downspouts, right?

Trying to get a solution for you about where to end the drain and how. I don't think draining under or near a sidewalk is appealing. Wouldn't that focus lots of extra water underneath the concrete sidewalk? I would get the water to the top of the slope and let it run down naturally, forget the trench. Water won't cause a big probem on the slope, especially compared to water focused or pooling on concrete. It's hard to say what to do. Need to know how much water you are moving and what the topography is. Let us know how this turns out.

packerbacker
04-06-2005, 08:42 AM