PDA

View Full Version : Grass has brown tips?

jpp
04-20-2005, 09:49 PM
I did a search on found some good information. From what I am reading the tips of the grass that turn brown is because the blades are not sharp enough. Is this true?This is the first year I have noticed it. I have been using a hand held angle grinder since 1998. If it is the grinder, then can you guys recommend a good bench grinder for me.

Thanks,

JP

DLCS
04-20-2005, 09:52 PM
Your angle grinder is fine for sharpening blades, just use a flap style sanding disc.

jpp
04-20-2005, 09:55 PM
Your angle grinder is fine for sharpening blades, just use a flap style sanding disc.

Mike,

Thanks for the quick response. I am not sure I know what a flap style sanding disc is. If I go into the hardware and ask for this they should know right?

Thanks,

JP

DLCS
04-20-2005, 09:59 PM
Mike,

Thanks for the quick response. I am not sure I know what a flap style sanding disc is. If I go into the hardware and ask for this they should know right?

Thanks,

JP

You can see them on this site. Go to link and put in page 2457 of their catalog. http://www.mcmaster.com/

Most hardware store will know what a flap disc is for a angle grinder.

jpp
04-20-2005, 10:05 PM
You can see them on this site. Go to link and put in page 2457 of their catalog. http://www.mcmaster.com/

Most hardware store will know what a flap disc is for a angle grinder.

Mike,

Thanks for the link and the picture. I will give this a shot.

Thanks,

JP

MMLawn
04-20-2005, 10:46 PM
I did a search on found some good information. From what I am reading the tips of the grass that turn brown is because the blades are not sharp enough. Is this true?
JP

Of course it is true. Heck, that's Lawn Care 101.....your profile says you have 15 years of experience so you should know that.

jpp
04-20-2005, 10:54 PM
Of course it is true. Heck, that's Lawn Care 101.....your profile says you have 15 years of experience so you should know that.