PDA

View Full Version : Retaining wall rebuild help please

Billpa
04-21-2005, 01:08 AM
Just curious what thoughts you guys may have on this wall rebuild. Let me start off by saying that I used to work as a mason about tens years ago but have never built retaining walls using dry stack block. I have laid wet and dry mountain stone as well as laying brick and block. I am however going to be partnering with another landscaper who has experience with these walls but Iím afraid his pricing may be out of line for my area and also Iím not sure about pricing since itís a rebuild.

The wall is about 118 ft long by a varied 4.5 to 5.5 feet high ( about 6 to 8 blocks)
as youíll see in the pics there is a wall made from railroad ties behind the block wall, the first 65 ft the two walls are aprox 2.5 ft apart and youíll see that it was never back filled causing the blocks to fall back, the rest of the wall has been built against the ties and is still in place.

Itís hard to see in the pics but access will be up the bank on the left and weíll be using a small bobcat to move material. We have about 11 feet of ledge to work on for the first 65 feet of the wall then it narrows to about half that.

Weíll also need to dig down and put in a new base as the last one is set almost at grade.

Any comments, thoughts, suggestions?

Any ballpark ideas on what to charge or time it would take? Labor only
should be 3 of us and Iíll be billing at $40 per man hour minimum.

I know there are some variables so Iím just looking for a ballpark as the bid is due Monday and I wonít see what my buddy comes up with until the weekend once he gets back to town, that will leave me very little time to chew on his price so I thought Iíd get some opinions.

Thanks

YardPro
04-21-2005, 07:32 AM
over 42" needs to be engineered.

it's not that expensive, and will remove liability from you. shouldn't cost more than $500.00 or so.

Billpa
04-21-2005, 11:43 PM