PDA

View Full Version : How much to charge for side jobs?

TheLawnRangerTX
05-06-2005, 04:06 AM
:help: Just picked up a new customer yesterday. He wants me to only do weedeating & edging on a weekly basis. His sons are doing the mowing. I can handle that. But, he also wants me for a one time deal to do a bunch of clean-up around the perimeter of his property(5 acres) and around his pond. I told him a price for the regular weedeating, and told him $25 an hour for the clean-up. He agreed on the $25 an hour for the perimeter, but told me he'd pay me $40 an hour around the pond. Am I leaving to much money out there on bidding these type of jobs? How do others charge? I'm only in my 2nd year, so I take what I can so my family can eat. Unfortunately, I can't say yet that I only do yards. He may want me do redo some beds for him also. Any clues on this? I appreciate in advance any help. :waving:

Premo Services
05-06-2005, 08:34 AM
You are leaving a lot of money on the table by not bidding the whole job, not just by the hour. IMO Your hourly rate is too low, I would be looking at least 35-40 per man per hour. payup

The problem is that you have not done jobs like this and it is hard to bid the whole job, so I would do them by the hour until you do some of this work and can see how long the jobs take.
You have to take into consideration all the job when bidding.
labor time
disposal charges and time to get to the dump area
you also have to cover costs of the commerecial equipment you will be using on the job
degree of how hard the job will be( if it is on a steep slope, or next to a pond it will be a lot harder to do and the proper charges will need to be added in)

Until you do some jobs of this kind, I would go with the time and material charge.
Good luck

PMLAWN
05-06-2005, 09:12 AM
I try to get $56.00 for the first hour of work and $39 for each hour after that.