PDA

View Full Version : Grass not growing much for spring?

lasher66
05-07-2005, 09:58 PM
I have been mowing for six years now and this is the first year that I have not had to deal with high grass in May. I live in NW Ohio and wondering if anyone else is dealing with this. I hope its not the beginning of an early drought. Every account I have is growing very slow and some are starting to get a little crispy from the sunny days we been having with not much rain. Usually by now I am double cutting, blowing lawns to hide clippings and I have not done that once yet.

Lasher

The mayor
05-07-2005, 10:04 PM
Same here in S.E. Wisconsin.

Wolfie's L&L
05-07-2005, 10:05 PM
Its probably because of the cold mornings we've been having around here. Usually the normal overnight low should be in the high 40s-mid 50s--but the low lately has been in the mid 30s. It is going to start getting back to normals soon, according to weather.com

Jason

Gatewayuser
05-07-2005, 10:20 PM
I wish it would rain I had to water the lawn today. But I'm kind of glad its not growing to fast because I'm very sick. Takes me twice as long to mow right now.

lawncare18
05-07-2005, 10:25 PM
We need warmer air day and night temps to make it grow faster. I know here in the northeast we can use some mroe rain. Also think about your soil temps. Soil temps are also still cold. Give it time.. im sure in a few weeks you will be wishing it wasnt growing fast as your working 7 days a week till dark

GrassBustersLawn
05-07-2005, 10:47 PM
Yes, it has been slow growing here for last 2 weeks. We had several nights that got BELOW FREEZING. I think that helped put the brakes on growth. We are ABOVE NORMAL in RAIN, so that shouldn't be the problem.

Mike

Precision
05-07-2005, 10:48 PM
Same thing here in florida but here it has to do with no rain. Got some this week, so the easy cutting is over soon.

ToroLover
05-07-2005, 11:42 PM