PDA

View Full Version : re seeding lawn/aereate


adam5557
05-13-2005, 02:05 PM
hey guys i got a question on what i should do. I have raked up some moss on about 600sq feet and the lawn has some grass in spots where there isnt a tree but where there is a tree and there are 2 trees it is one big barespot with no grass.She wants me to reseed the lawn.I dont have much experience but she is telling me to rake up moss ,aereate lawn,spread new top soil , and then seed.any ideas?thanks. i have a a rototiller if that would help in what i am doing.

PhrankW
05-13-2005, 02:25 PM
Moss is growing because the area is too wet too long. This is probably due to poor drainage & the shade of the tree. First, aerate. Second, apply Turface MVP to the soil and drag it into the holes. This will help with the drainage & will also act as a drying agent. Third, try to prune the tree so that more light can get through. After all this is done then seed. Fescue would probably be your best choice.

adam5557
05-13-2005, 02:30 PM
She really wants me to put in new top soil would that help?

PhrankW
05-13-2005, 02:34 PM
Aerate, topdress with the Turface, and then topdress with the top soil.

adam5557
05-13-2005, 02:45 PM
Hey i am going to rent a areator will it affect the quality of my job if it is raining.thanks .

chefdrp
05-14-2005, 12:50 AM
if its raining, thats great, You need damp soil to pull some good plugs. I once areated IN the rain.