PDA

View Full Version : Roll it or not

suzjr
05-15-2005, 07:41 PM
Hi everybody,
I am new to the web site and would like to introduce myself as "The YardMaid".I have a customer that has a newly sodded yard that has a lot of lumps and uneven places in it. Looks like the ones who sodded it just threw it down. He has asked me to roll it for him. I have never done this and would like a little feedback on the best way to do it,wet or dry,what size roller should I use aeration afterwards that sort of thing. :help:

nobagger
05-15-2005, 07:56 PM
Wait until the ground is damp not soaked and muddy but if conditions are dry you wont be doing anything but stripping the grass. They only make a few sizes for push type rollers, just remember the bigger they are the harder they are to push! I have a 24" wide one and when its 1/2 to 3/4 filled its freakin heavy!

chefdrp
05-15-2005, 08:52 PM
you should wait to do it till it is moist, not wet. If you have a lawntractor you can rent a pull behind roller that you fill with water. Normally rolling is bad for a lawn cause it just compacts the soil and you dont get a good root system. Just a compact one. They should have rooled the sod after they put it down. Roll it then i would do areation after it has established itself.

shortgut
05-15-2005, 10:03 PM
Got a question do they have a one that pulls it self I am fixin to install a bunch of sod on the side of a hill no way could you use a hand one and not enough area for a riding mower

Runner
05-15-2005, 10:13 PM