PDA

View Full Version : mulching animals....

geogunn
05-16-2005, 12:22 PM
unfortunately, mulching animals is an occupational hazzard we in the lawn care industry must face.

but dang I hate it when it happens.

just saturday I mulched a fledgling bird of some kind. I never saw the little guy until I made the next pass.

it was pretty nasty. feathers everywhere and a mass of lifeless protoplasm at grass cut level.

but I am a professional grass cutter and don't like to leave a mess so I made another pass.

that did the trick. nothing left, not even a feather!

I am trying to be more careful now.

GEO :)

marko
05-16-2005, 12:42 PM
Thank god for mulchers! Never hit anything live, but did get a dead bird once side discharging with doubles. Feather city!!!!

Steve9
05-16-2005, 12:45 PM
Hit a baby rabbit once....well twice. Nipped him with the Skag (not the blade) then when i was trimming the little guy was hugging the fence post and i didnt see him! He was barking like crazy...I felt horrible all day.

chimmygew
05-16-2005, 12:55 PM
I was cutting a yard for the first time last year, about a foot tall. Anyway, the dog had drug a dead skunk off the road into the yard and needless to say, I chopped it up. I almost barfed. The smell was beyond anything I had ever had the displeasure of inhaling. WOW that thing stunk. Nothing like rotting carcas and smell of skunk all in one.

marko
05-16-2005, 01:07 PM
Skunks are the worst! The big thing at my work was running over a dead one right at shift change for the oncoming people to enjoy all day! Seemed to linger for ever

Jpocket
05-16-2005, 07:46 PM
I mulched a snake

PLM-1
05-16-2005, 11:39 PM
I hit a turtle on Saturday at my lake house. Never saw the damn thing. took the top of his shell right off, and shot it as well as the innards all over the side of my white garage. All i found was the bottom of the shell. Ewwwww

stumper1620
05-16-2005, 11:46 PM
I mulched a snake
I hate snakes! mulch em all!