PDA

View Full Version : Am I in the ballpark?

Billpa
05-17-2005, 07:23 PM
As some of you know Id like to move into the hard scape business, I just found a guy thats looking to get back into it so were going to do a few jobs together and see how it goes. Ive been doing all the research I can, also i worked as a mason for a while about ten years ago so I think I have a good understanding of what needs to be done.

My concern is what to charge, If I knew how long it would take to do the job this would be easier.

Im bidding on a brick paver walk and a small garden wall around a gazebo.

1st the walk. This walk will be in two sections and both will be a mix of curves and straight, the first section will have three levels to it to accommodate a gradual slope and will be 4x38 and the second section will be a level run 4x34 for a total of 288 sq ft materials will be about $1730 and hes suggesting I charge $3312.00 for labor, total being $5042.00 or also suggested going to $5203.00 ,,, seems high to me?

2nd the garden wall, this wall would be about 15' diameter or 48' ? circumference (ballpark) the wall will vary in height from 24" to 12" with most of the wall being 24 to 18" inches high and only a small section at 12" high. I came up with 80 face ft and he came up with less 65, so lets just say 75 face ft. material approximately $900 labor $1690 for a total of $2590

access to the work areas are good and the customer has offered to let us use his kubota which has a loader and small hoe on the back. Also looking at $150 or so in rental fees and there will be three of us on the job.

I know all the variables that usually go into pricing a job but bottom line is if you dont know how long it will take then the rest of the numbers are useless, also Ive been told the $40 per man hour for this kind of work is low, any thoughts from the northeast or Pa guys?

Thanks

TJLANDS
05-18-2005, 07:55 AM
Sounds like you are using some expensive pavers. 288 sq- $1700.