PDA

View Full Version : Slit seeder - How does it work?

Lawn-Scapes
05-18-2005, 11:01 PM
I've never used one before... Pictured is the underside of a Olathe slit seeder. Can someone explain to me what the toothed discs do and what the round/smooth discs do? I'm guessing the toothed disc opens up the ground and the round one pushes the seed into the opening... right???

If I were to use this machine on an already established lawn.. will it pull up a lot of thatch?

Drew Gemma
05-18-2005, 11:30 PM
do not use it on an established lawn! If you wanna do that use an aerrator. Slice seeder is for reseeding an existing yard that you completely kill then use the old dead vegatation as a seed bed. it puts heavy amounts of seed down and you can streak an existing lawn by using it on them.

rick2752
05-18-2005, 11:43 PM
I dont agree, Ive used them on existing lawns and they do an excellent job of filling a thin lawn. Tom, that seeder is a little better than mine, I have a bluebird. From looking at they pic I would say that the front blades cut the slit into the ground, tubes drop the seed into the existing slit and then the round blades in back work as a disc to close the slit you just made. The round blades dont line up with the toothed blades do they? The only time they streak a lawn is when you cut corners and only slice in one direction. You are supposed to do the whole lawn in one direction and then cover it again diagonally. That will take care of the "cornrows" you would see otherwise.

dkeisala
05-19-2005, 12:35 AM
Agreed - slit seeders are fine for exisiting lawns. I've done it on my own lawn with excellent results.

Lawn-Scapes
05-19-2005, 12:38 AM
Thanks for the comments. Will it pull up thatch too? I need to know if there will be a lot of clean up...

rick2752
05-19-2005, 12:57 AM