PDA

View Full Version : How to assemble double blades?


Lowe Mowing
05-20-2005, 12:47 AM
Does anyone run double blades on a 52" Wright Stander? If so, what are the steps in assembling the double blades...i am interested in trying this but i dont know what blades to use or how to set it up. Any info would be appreciated.

Lawn-Scapes
05-20-2005, 12:52 AM
Place one over the other like this ---> +

Just make sure the bolt is long enough...

Lowe Mowing
05-20-2005, 01:42 AM
with no bolts in between them?.....just blades on like + and then tighten them? Its that easy?

Nathan 281
05-20-2005, 01:45 AM
Would 12.5hp be enoughf for doubles on a 36" WB?

Runner
05-20-2005, 02:31 AM
Be careful doing a search on this subject...there is about 2 days of reading on here.

skurtz78
05-20-2005, 09:14 AM
I have a 12 1/2 kaw engine and it runs doubles great with the discharge chute open. I havnt tried to close it and mulch yet

LawnScapers of Dayton
05-20-2005, 09:33 AM
I run doubles on my 52" Stander gators over highlifts. Bolts are plenty long.

I also run doubles on 13hp Toro 36".....runs great also.

Derek

marko
05-20-2005, 10:00 AM
.....I also run doubles on 13hp Toro 36".....runs great also.

Derek


I run the same on a 13 HP. No problems with power loss etc.

IRISHGARDA
05-20-2005, 02:11 PM
Not a bad idea to use a blade lock when running twin blades.

IRISHGARDA
05-20-2005, 02:22 PM
If use use this device you do not have to over tighten the spindle bolts in order to keep the blades from spinning out of alignment

pcnservices
05-20-2005, 02:49 PM
I use the stock high lift blade with a flat type low lift blade. It's not so noisy and don't take that much torque off the motor.
Good Luck
PC

Itsgottobegreen
05-20-2005, 07:09 PM
Does anyone run double blades on a 52" Wright Stander? If so, what are the steps in assembling the double blades...i am interested in trying this but i dont know what blades to use or how to set it up. Any info would be appreciated.
I run double gator magnums year round now on my standers.
You need some extra horse power because of the extra drag the double blades cause. You also might want to turn your engine RPMS up a little.

On a 52" stander double gators results:
17hp sucks
19hp sweet
25hp O my GOD, freaking insane
I know because I have all three.

If use use this device you do not have to over tighten the spindle bolts in order to keep the blades from spinning out of alignment
Where did you get those? I need 11 of them. ASAP.

QualityLawnCare4u
05-20-2005, 07:31 PM
If use use this device you do not have to over tighten the spindle bolts in order to keep the blades from spinning out of alignment

Irishgarda, where did you get this from? Our DC dealer has something similar but it was a lot of $$$$.

IRISHGARDA
05-20-2005, 10:14 PM
I got them from my local power and equip dealer. I think they were only $5.00 a piece. I will ask them where they get them the next time go.

Itsgottobegreen
05-21-2005, 02:49 AM
I got them from my local power and equip dealer. I think they were only $5.00 a piece. I will ask them where they get them the next time go.
Lets us know. A bunch of us need them. ASAP.

Fareway Lawncare
05-21-2005, 02:55 AM
You Kids and Your Doubles...Put the Blades in a + Formation and Tighten...It's Not Rocket Science...Also Dont use Gators if Your Cutting Lush or Wet Turf.

cajuncreole
05-21-2005, 04:32 AM
Where can I get a blade lock, I run double gators on my Exmark Lazer Z 52" 27 HP, I have knocked them out of alignment before. I torque the spindle nuts to Exmark specs.

elamey
05-23-2005, 11:27 AM
Did you ever get the info on those double blade brackets? If not the manufacturer, who is your local dealer? They might drop a set in the mail for a price.

thank you
Eric Lamey

cajuncreole
05-23-2005, 11:32 AM
Does Exmark make blade locks or is that an inadvertent endorsement that they believe it is OK to run them? It may be a liability issue on their end. I could not find any on the net, I am probably looking in the wrong places.

Grassboy 101
05-23-2005, 10:19 PM
Nice looking devise, Where did you get it? What was the price?
Thanks.

jeffreyj77
05-23-2005, 11:45 PM
Is this device something that you fabricated, or did you purchase this somewhere?

Green Pastures
05-23-2005, 11:49 PM
If use use this device you do not have to over tighten the spindle bolts in order to keep the blades from spinning out of alignment


DUDE!

I need a few of those!

PLEASE let us know when you can get ahold of them or tell us where to get them.

I need some for Toro Z-Masters..........

QualityLawnCare4u
05-24-2005, 01:28 AM
I got them from my local power and equip dealer. I think they were only $5.00 a piece. I will ask them where they get them the next time go.

Wow! My DC dealer wanted 30 apiece for his!

grass disaster
05-24-2005, 01:34 AM
wow you guys are crazy about that clamp..... i could make some money on this i shoud ask the guys down in sheet metal to stamp some of these out quick??????

crosson lawn
05-25-2005, 11:51 PM
i want some too (keeping it on top so everyone can see)

ChadsLawn
05-26-2005, 12:06 AM
I need 3 of them

MidAtlantic
05-27-2005, 08:25 AM
I got them from my local power and equip dealer. I think they were only $5.00 a piece. I will ask them where they get them the next time go.

IRISHGARDA---Have you found out where your dealer gets those things? Or do you have a number where all of us can contact your dealer to order some??

cajuncreole
05-27-2005, 01:38 PM
Come on guys someone must have a reasonable source?

I am suprised Meg-Mo hasn't gotten involved.

Likestomow
05-27-2005, 11:09 PM
If use use this device you do not have to over tighten the spindle bolts in order to keep the blades from spinning out of alignment

Don't be so quick to fall in love with these flimsey brackets. They appear to be 1/8" thick or less, which is way too thin. I've made my own out of 1/4" steel and have had them tear up when encountering a a stump or big rock. These things may look nice, but then won't last.

On the other hand, if they only cost $5 (which I highly doubt), then they might be worth a try.

IRISHGARDA
05-28-2005, 01:22 PM
Sorry for the delay.
The brackets are not flimsy. I have hit a few rocks now and again no problems at all.

You can get them at Northborough Power Equipment 200 Bartlett Street Northborough Massachusetts 01532. (508) 393-3002 Ask for Chris.

I talked to him this morning and he said he would ship them to anyone who wants them.

Have fun....

Itsgottobegreen
05-28-2005, 03:45 PM
I just called that dealer.

Its a ariens or gravely part # 04928500 or 49285

They work with gator blades with a 5/8" hole.

IRISHGARDA
05-28-2005, 10:18 PM
Dixie Chopper has them on the their web site also.

crosson lawn
05-28-2005, 10:46 PM
what's the price of them by 3 or 1 what is the price for these??