PDA

View Full Version : Price for Weeding Flower Beds?

Braxton
05-20-2005, 08:35 PM
Any advice on bidding clean-outs/restorations for flower beds? I just bid one this week and based it on the "dollar a minute" I hear so much about. The lady nearly died when I told her the price, and I think I lost the lawn account over it. I'm not so much worried about the lawn account as I am making sure I bid things reasonably. The lawn was actually more trouble than it was worth. Still, I'm new to this and it was one precious account...

I did a search on this and found everything from about $35-about $50 per hour. What do y'all charge, and if the figure of $35/hour is correct, what happened to the "dollar a minute" figure I've heard so much? While I'm on the subject, is that price what you try to clear or gross?

Thanks.

Braxton

A+ Lawncare
05-20-2005, 08:46 PM
well for labor such as maintence of beds, i charge $35 an hr/man hr, if i'm running a crew of 3 then thats $105 an hr. well the customer may remark as but u were only there for an hr and u charged for 3hrs? u need to let her in on a secert the reason i charged this is b/c if i was solo it would of taken me 3hrs, there are 2 other guys beside me 2day m'am.... but never tell ur customer how much u charge per hr, just bid by job they'll start thinkin i don't even get close to that rate or my dr. gets $50 an hr and ur some low life w/an mower or an wheel barrowl who thinks u can charge $60 an hr.... well m'am i only see about 1/4 of that money on a good day due to expenses ( direct & inderect variables) and taxes will eat u alive....

the $60 per hr is for guys w/large ztr... i've recently done a search on a topic of how much to make an hr and saw where another LCO said for ppl w/36''-52'' w/b should be making $40 an hr... idk whether this is relevant or something u should just overlook b/c i'm still wondering if its true myself.....

eruuska
05-20-2005, 10:34 PM