PDA

View Full Version : John Deere 36 w/b v. Toro 36 w/b

dirt digger
05-31-2005, 01:23 PM
I am looking at the GS 30 or GS 45 John Deere 36 w/b and the Toro 36 w/b. I have never operated either one these mowers and am inquiring about opinions of these two machines. I do mulch most of the time and want a machine the mulches well. I have heard concerns that the Toro does not mulch well, but I have no personal experience with Toro's. These are the only two dealers in my area in which I mow, and do know the JD dealer has great service. I have talked to the Toro dealer but have never had to use their services.

mkwl
05-31-2005, 08:30 PM
Toro is definitely your best choice! I have a Toro Proline 36" belt drive WB mower w/13 HP V-Twin Kawasaki engine, and I love it! It has a fantastic cut and stripe!!! I'm not really sure about mulching, since I only bag and discharge. My grandfather has JD 48" WB, and he dislikes it because it gives a rather poor cut and has no stripe at all. He doesen't mulch either, so I'm not sure about JD mulching. If you're looking for a great cut and stripe, very well built commercial mower, Toro Proline is your mower!

Mountain Peak
05-31-2005, 08:54 PM
Now I have a GS-30 36 inch JD and love it. It is a pistol grip, which has made my hands really strong this year. I have received many positive comments on the striping and with the mulch kit I can power through most thick growth without a second pass.

I'm sure the Toro is a very nice mower and I almost bought one this year. The big push to the JD for me was the dealer, he's only a couple miles away and is a really nice guy.

I have no regrets with the mower and would buy it again.

South Florida Lawns
05-31-2005, 11:08 PM
Look good great customer help fast at anwsering qustions about my machine.

fairwayCuts
06-01-2005, 12:35 AM