PDA

View Full Version : All Of A Sudden (I Love Mowing)

No Lawncares
05-31-2005, 06:01 PM
Well guys I'm gonna try to make this short and sweet. I started my business last year, it was me and my buddy. We paid for all our equipment with cash that we had saved up. After 1 year my buddy decided we were'nt making enough money so he got out. I will say 1st year was a little hard because we didn't really know how to bid, and many times we came low and got the account. Year 2 starts up and I really wasn't feeling like this was in my future, so I got rid of all my accounts but 5 (figured hey extra money would be nice). Well here we are 2 months in and I am picking up accounts left and right (high bids at that). I think this is MY year to make this work on my own.

ChadA
05-31-2005, 06:03 PM
Sounds like things are off to a good start. Good luck with your solo op.

LawnBoy89
05-31-2005, 10:02 PM
Nice man, this is my first year too, keep up the good work. Do you do mostly residential or commercial?

HighGrass
05-31-2005, 10:58 PM
My third year. There does seem a point where it all just seems to start coming together. It's happening now with me. My biggest problem was letting some folks control situations that I should have definetly had control in.

The biggest hurdle I overcame was no more mowing every tens days or every other week or every other bla bla bla. Now I tell them that it's a 7 day service plan period and then I explain why.

Now everything is easier and I love getting up having a coffee in the truck riding to that first account and working till dinner.

Tharrell
06-01-2005, 08:14 AM
Things can and will turn on a dime. Maybe you've paid your dues and it's your time. I remember some down times when I questioned why I was doing this and then I thought about the corporate culture and someone else deciding how much money I was worth, etc...
I love getting dirty and sweaty. I also love a job well done.
There's more satisfaction in this than anything I've ever done.