PDA

View Full Version : Tropical lawn installation

dislocated
02-26-2001, 10:42 PM
I am a dislocated Virginian in Puerto Rico and have recently purchased a home here that is in need of landscaping and a lawn. My problem is I have not found a source of information here that suites my level of need. My biggest problem comes from being told I cannot grow grass from seed and must use sod. All the sod installations that I have observed here have one common problem, ankle twisting holes; look great just don't walk on them. I am told that the area is to dry and hot for a seeded lawn to work. I plan to install an automated sprinkler system, so to me the dryness issue is not a problem. I am not an expert in the area of lawns and grasses, but did spend a lot of years growing agriculture products in Va., as in alfalfa, corn, and orchard grass for cattle. I see no reason why the same principles will not work here. I could be totally wrong and the advice I am getting is correct, I am just looking for some different prospectives here. Does any one have experience in this area? At this point I feel as though I will do my own work, including the design of the sprinkler system since no one has quoted based on sound engineering practices, just haphazard systems. Any information will be a help, even if you tell me all I can do is sod; at least my comfort level will increase. My lawn is in the second treatment of Roundup and will be graded once more, then treated again with Roundup several times.
Thanks

Stonehenge
02-27-2001, 01:28 AM
Well, I am by no means an expert in grasses in your area. However, I do know this. The sod they're trying to sell you probably started somewhere as seed.

Good luck. I'm jealous.

GroundKprs
02-27-2001, 10:05 AM
Have you tried the cooperative extension service?

Cooperative Extension Service
University of Puerto Rico
College of Agricultural Sciences
PO Box 21120
Rio Piedras, PR 00928
Telephone: (809) 765-8000