PDA

View Full Version : JRCO for new lawn install


cleancutccl
06-07-2005, 01:08 AM
Has anyone used a JRCO tine rake for putting in a new lawn? Is it stiff enough to work up the ground for a seed bed? Or the other option is till and then use the JRCO to get the seed in the ground. Thoughts from anyone?

Runner
06-07-2005, 12:23 PM
It really depends on the soil. I've used mine for this on several different occasions, and it worked great. I worked it up with it, spread my seed, and went back over it. Starter fert, and we were good to go. The lawn came in beatifully.

cleancutccl
06-07-2005, 05:06 PM
Would it be a good idea to water the area a day or two in advance to get it a little soft?

Runner
06-07-2005, 11:58 PM
Well, again, it depends on the soil. If it is too hard, the tines won't even penetrate. Water would certainly help either way, but just don't get it too wet, where it is sticky and clumpy.