PDA

View Full Version : De-Thatching Estimates

DBM
03-01-2001, 04:56 PM
Hi folks. I've been browsing through the forum for the last couple of weeks and I can't believe how valuable it's been for me. I'm new to this business and I'm starting on a part-time basis.
I had placed an ad in the local paper yesterday and I've had several requests for power-raking. How long do you figure it will take me to complete the job on a standard 5000 square foot lawn? (I may have under bid on the one I had visited today as he jumped at my offer of $150.00 for a 5000 square foot lawn.)
Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Doug

kutnkru
03-01-2001, 05:47 PM
In our area that would be a high end proposal for 5m/sf.

A general rule of thumb for lots of the same size is this:
If you find that people are jumping at your price, then you are too low;
If they close the door in your face, then you are too high;
If they want to haggle price then youre in the ballpark.

Good Luck!
Kris

Mike Paulsen
03-01-2001, 06:49 PM
I would love to get that for 5000sqft.At one every hour to hour and half it would make for an good days wage.

AB Lawn Care
03-01-2001, 06:49 PM
Good to see an other canadian on the forum.There is a small groupe of us on here now.Cantoo Cutntrim and more.I would say there is about 10-15 of us.Keep in touch!

DBM
03-02-2001, 12:39 AM
Guys, thanks for the help. I guess I'll keep my quotes in the same ballpark for the next couple of estimates. I'd be happy to make these kind of margins. If I get the next couple of bids I'll raise it a little. AB Lawn Care if you're still out there, are there any other Canadians in this forum from B.C.?

Twotoros
03-02-2001, 12:51 PM