PDA

View Full Version : Help in designing commerical mower needed...Question 1!

Jamie
03-03-2001, 09:32 AM
Hi!

My name is Jamie Palmer, and I'm a student at NC State University working on a project involving designing a commercial mower. I've actually been a member (lurker) of lawnsite for a while and previously received some terrific advice for my lawn at home. You folks were the first group I thought of when we got this project at school. Our team already has asked you a question, Saunders got many replies when she was asking you what types of mowers you folks owned and used.

We're looking at the same market currently occupied by the Wright Sentar and the Hustler ShortCut--small, ride-on machines that try to offer the same space-saving advantages as the standers. Our goal is to design a mower that exceeds anything on the market now in this class but could compete with them on a price basis. I'd like to ask you folks, the obvious experts in the area, some questions over the next couple of days/weeks about capabilities and features you like (or don't like, for that matter!) Hopefully this is the right forum? I've looked in past conversations that you've had along these lines and it looks like you had some great ideas!

My first question is this: Looking at the Great Dane and the Wright standers, it looks like the Great Dane's deck is suspended like the larger Mid-Z's, while the Wright's is not. Does this make a real difference, cut and adjustment-wise?

Thanks for any time you can give us answering these questions...and please feel free to offer any ideas you've got!

Jamie

lawrence stone
03-03-2001, 09:47 AM
First question:

How do you plan on circumvent the patent of Wright mfg.?

You can't produce a machine in which another company holds the patent

1stclasslawns
03-03-2001, 10:41 AM
I myself like the floating deck (Great Dane) better then the fixed, they seem to give a better cut. Adjustment is handled with ease.