PDA

View Full Version : Power screed

FlaRipper
07-10-2005, 06:24 AM
I'm new to hardscapes. Just wondering what types of screeds are out there? I thought I heard something about a power screed, but was not sure.
You guys without a skid steer just level your base out by hand?

MarcusLndscp
07-10-2005, 09:08 AM
Hi
All of our bases are leveled out by hand and we have 5 skid steers. You want your base to be pretty close to perfect otherwise your pavers will become a direct reflection of the contours of your base. Take the time and put in some grade stakes and shoot grades onto them marking both the top of your base and the top of your finished patio. Run strings lines from one set of these marks, I prefer to run them from the finished patio marks and then I make a guage marking the thickness of my pavers plus the depth of my sand. I usually do 3" not 3 3/8" to allow for compaction when your done. My guage is a grade stake flipped upside down with a notch in one side at the 3" mark, I then run it all around the string lines to see if the base is high or low. You'll do this a number of times raking out highs and filling in lows until you're within say a 1/4 inch. As far as screeds go, for any project I've ever done a set of (3) 1" O.D. rigid electrical conduits and a screed board has worked out fine and I've done paver work jobs up to 5,000 S.F. at a time. Start small and simple and once you get the feel of it paver work is quite easy. Ideally you could work with someone that knows what they're doing before you get in too deep. Good Luck

FlaRipper
07-10-2005, 09:17 AM
Thanks for the pointers!
Where can I find a screed? ;)

orionkf
07-10-2005, 04:44 PM