PDA

View Full Version : What do you experienced contractors do in the winter & fall?

AdamCByrd
07-24-2005, 11:40 PM
I am just getting started in full-time lawn and landscape maintenance. I have over 30 commercial maintenance accounts (50/50 residential / commercial) that require weeding, blowing, trimming, and pruning 12 months a year. However, these jobs aren't enough to pay my bills in the fall and winter after I stop mowing.

Can ya'll please give me some ideas of services to provide in the fall and winter so that I can stay busy?

For example, would any of you recommend me investing in a leaf / debris collection system and remove leaves in the fall? Is there any money in that? Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

olderthandirt
07-25-2005, 12:06 AM
Don't take this the wrong way but we are a service that only needed so many months out of the yr. espescially in the north. Its a sellers market in the spring and fall and I will raise my prices during those peak times and do extra work knowing that winter is coming and I'll be taking a few months off. Also we have the option of plowing but I hate that and try to avoid it as much as possable. So my advise is work more in the summer and enjoy the winters

AdamCByrd
07-25-2005, 12:12 AM
I know you didn't ask, but just for your reading pleasure, here's what I've got so far (but it isn't enough)

I'll be painting boundary lines in the woods for a large land management company in Mississippi. This might make me $2K this winter.

I am getting into the cattle business with my dad and will have some regular farm work. We pay ourselves $10/hr.

I already mentione in my original post about my commercial / residential landscape maintenance jobs, but they only keep me busy about 8 working days a month.

I'm looking for something to fill in the gaps, and I don't think I'll make enough this summer to let me just ease through the winter, although some more deer hunting time would not be a problem.

olderthandirt