PDA

View Full Version : Refunds for Pre Pay Customers

HydroRI
08-01-2005, 09:38 PM
I offered a 5% discount this year for anyone who wanted to pay for there yearly service before April 1st.

Well I have a customer that is very particular and expects to have a golf course for a lawn. This is my first year doing this lawn and I understand 2 years ago the yard was 50% weeds. I think the lawn looks great for the weather we have been having in the northeast this summer. The lawn is irrigated. The customer states she waters every morning. I think that may contribute to the leaching of the Dimension I used in Mid April for the first treatment. Well about 3 weeks ago the front lawn had a outbreak of crabgrass. I explained to the customer I could spray the crabgrass but it would look yellow in the areas where I sprayed until the crabgrass completely died. I also advised her the crabgrass would die anyway in the fall. She did not want it sprayed if it was going to look yellow.

Before this I was at her property on 2 other visits between treatments to spray for broad leaf weeds. The weeds died but new ones grew. I told her she was mowing to short which she was. I also stressed that she could not water or mow the lawn after I spray the weeds for at least 24 hrs. I am not sure if she followed these directions either.

The point is this customer has 3 treatments left for the year and she is not satisfied and wants a refund for the remaining of the year. I do not make my customers sign a contract. Out of 37 customers this is the only 1 I have had any issues with this year. I was thinking of refunding the remainder but pro rating it without the 5% discount.

What would you guys do?

olderthandirt
08-01-2005, 09:51 PM
Just what you said !

Tscape
08-01-2005, 11:10 PM