PDA

View Full Version : Pricing for applying checmicals

anothertractor
08-05-2005, 09:39 AM
Hey everyone,
I am new to the pesticide part of the business. Before you ask, yes, I have my commercial applicator license and insurance. I have acquired my first job and want to make sure I price accordingly. I am going to spray a clients yard (about 85000 feet) with a broadleaf weed killer. With this volume, I am thinking that a hose end sprayer might be my best bet. Please advise if you feel differently. I have a 4 gallon backpack sprayer but I figured that my coverage might be spotty. Is there a ballbark per 1000 feet that I should use for a project like this? Thanks for your resonses.

Mscotrid
08-05-2005, 10:42 AM
What is your market competition? Price will vary due to market demand. Price yourself according to your competition for your area. Hose end sprayer? Not my first choice. Do you plan on using a garden hose and attach to the customers house? I've heard of applicators carrying potable water and attaching a hose end to their spray systems if changing chemicals throughout the day. As a hole that's not an industry standard.

With all that being said I would probably charge $175.00 - $200.00 if they wanted me to just drag a hose on their property. That's herbicide only no fert or other chemicals.

kcchiefs58
08-06-2005, 04:30 PM
I think you need to know a couple of things. First figure your product cost. Say a herbicide costs about $30 a gallon which is about 24 cents an ounce. How much product will you use? 1 1/2 oz. per thousand would cost 36 cents per thousand. To spray 85000 feet that would be about $31 in product cost. What is your time worth and what kind of overhead is there. If you figure your time, expenses, overhead is worth about $150 per hour. A spray rig sprays 3 gallons per minute and every minute you can spray 1000 sq. ft. that would take 85 minutes to spray 85000 feet. Cost in time would then be about $213 add product which would total to be $246.