PDA

View Full Version : Aeration/Over Seed which method is best?

HydroRI
08-07-2005, 07:56 PM
Thinking ahead to Fall and wondering which method would give me the best results. I am using the Plugr PL 800 for Aeration. I am not sure yet if I will have to go in two directions because the tines are 2.25" apart. This is my first year using this machine.

Some guys say drop your seed first then aerate over it, then fertilize. Others say aerate first wait a week for plugs to break down then throw down seed. Or how about aerate, seed, fertilize?

I am looking for some feedback on the best way to do this 3 step process. I do not own a slit seeder or want to rent one so that is not an option. I spent over $3,000 on this aerator and I want to get the most out of it.

Which aeration/over seed method works best for you guys? Anyone used the PL800?

The mayor
08-07-2005, 09:22 PM
First aerate,then I slit seed.With the pl800 you only have to aerate once. How did you pay $3000.00 for the plugr.

Drew Gemma
08-07-2005, 09:30 PM
seed last after aeration always

HydroRI
08-07-2005, 09:38 PM
How did you pay $3000.00 for the plugr.
I paid with a finance program. Is that what your asking?

TScapes
08-09-2005, 09:18 AM
Aerate first, seed (allowing seed to fall into plug holes) and then fert.

Going over twice does increase your plugs and allow for more penetration for the seeding, but may not be neccessary for each and every lawn. I would make that decision on a yard by yard comparison. And yes, a crossing or perpendicular pattern works well.

HydroRI
08-09-2005, 03:07 PM
seed last after aeration always

Why? What if I seed first then Aerate, what will the results be opposed to aerating first? Just curious

turfcobob
08-10-2005, 04:27 PM