PDA

View Full Version : Aeration/Over Seed which method is best?

HydroRI
08-08-2005, 06:51 PM
Thinking ahead to Fall and wondering which method would give me the best results. I am using the Plugr PL 800 for Aeration. I am not sure yet if I will have to go in two directions because the tines are 2.25" apart. This is my first year using this machine.

Some guys say drop your seed first then aerate over it, then fertilize. Others say aerate first wait a week for plugs to break down then throw down seed. Or how about aerate, seed, fertilize?

I am looking for some feedback on the best way to do this 3 step process. I do not own a slit seeder or want to rent one so that is not an option. I spent over $3,000 on this aerator and I want to get the most out of it.

Which aeration/over seed method works best for you guys? Anyone used the PL800?

ProLawns
08-08-2005, 07:41 PM
Cut the grass shorter than normal. The shorter the better. Dethatch if needed. Aerate, seed, starter fert. and lime if needed one right after the other. Keep moist for two weeks and it will germinate.

ProLawns
08-08-2005, 08:35 PM
I am not sure yet if I will have to go in two directions because the tines are 2.25" apart.
Also, with tines that close together one pass should be sufficient unless you have really hard ground.

HydroRI
08-08-2005, 09:53 PM
Has anyone ever used a drag mat after aerating, but before or after dropping seed? Will this improve seed to soil contact?

GREENITUP
08-09-2005, 08:22 AM
Hydro, Put your seed down first, aerate, and then put your starter fert down. This way your seed gets better contact with the soil and any slow release coating on your prills won't get damaged by the spoons. You will have plenty of plugs from the 800 in one pass. Good luck.

HydroRI
08-09-2005, 12:12 PM
I am hearing seed first then aerate, and some say always aerate first then seed.

What are the pros and cons? Will the seed get damaged if you aerate over it??

TOMMY1115
08-09-2005, 01:08 PM