PDA

View Full Version : What does bahia look like?

beaver29
08-10-2005, 10:23 PM
I'm new to this game. Can someone post some picks of bahia grasss?

lawnman_scott
08-10-2005, 10:44 PM
heres one...

lawnman_scott
08-10-2005, 10:45 PM
this is closer up

lawnmaniac883
08-10-2005, 10:51 PM
I hate cuttin bahia. No matter how hard I try, I just shred the crap outta it.

valleylawn79
08-11-2005, 08:41 PM
looks like pasture grass mixed all up here. grows an inch overnight. seems like it will grow in a drought. but with rain it will grow a foot a week here. terrible on my blades

ChadA
08-11-2005, 08:44 PM
I consider it more of a weed. Needs cut every 4 days this time of year.

rough cut
08-11-2005, 10:04 PM
I've got 10 full acres of it to cut. Need to stop and chg blades after half way. Its even worse when I cut during the middle of the day. No mater how sharp the blades, the Bahia just folds over without getting cut. Need to cut it early when there is heavy dew or after the noon time rains. :cry:

Gizmo_019
08-11-2005, 11:03 PM
Yep, it's a pain and looks like crap to boot. My low quaility Crapsman blades won't las ta day withouyt being sharpened. I can't wait to get a ZTR, I'm leaning towards Hustler right now and one reason is the Fusion blades that ppl talk about, if they stay sharp that much longer that regular blades I'm game anyday.

The bahia in the pics looks good to me. Also, I think it will grow in a drought because I cut every 2 weeks onb my accounts and some are 12-14" tall in 2 weeks with bahia :cry: When we are havin a good wet season, you can't turn your back on it or it will need it again.

TClawn
08-11-2005, 11:34 PM
I cut a grass similar to bahia, but with a thinner leaf blade, and a bit less aggressive growth habit.