PDA

View Full Version : ever do an estimate for an ex lco?

bobbygedd
08-22-2005, 04:38 PM
i love it when the failures in this business, tell me, i'm doing it wrong. "well, i never charged extra for that." ..."well, i never did it that way....". ya, ok, WHAT HAPPENED? TELL ME??? i get the same ole story, " well, i got burnt out. well, there just wasn't enough money in it..." ya, ok. as i told yas, we put out alot of flyers. i'm getting tons of calls already, i did an estimate for a guy, gave him prices, he looks at me, and says, "your prices are out of line. I KNOW what the going rate is. i used to do this for a living." it turns out, he went under. he just couldn't cut it. wasn't making enough $$$, then getting popped with 2 employees and no payroll records, sunk him completely. my advice, don't take advice from people who have failed, or are failing. no, i didn't get the job

sildoc
08-22-2005, 05:07 PM
My first year I actually mowed for 2 larger LCO owners. They were so busy doing others that the last thing they wanted to do was their own. I'm guessing I was low enough that it was more than worth it for them and probably undercut myself quite a bit but that was part of my learning experience and how I learned to bid better.

Precision
08-22-2005, 07:51 PM