PDA

View Full Version : he wants me to wait till october to seed

bobbygedd
08-24-2005, 10:29 PM
well, i been getting call after call from my flyers. landing most of the work. here is an odd request: (this, from a guy who used to be in the lawn business)- i'll need to kill the entire front lawn which contains 99.9% crabgrass. then i need to powerseed. my suggestion is that i spray now, wait a week-2 weeks, and seed. he insists that i spray in mid september, and seed in october. his reasoning-" i used to do this for a living, october is the best time to seed." would you even bother?

Lake Claire Lawn Ranger
08-24-2005, 10:58 PM
So, is this guy going to be your boss?

Kelly's Landscaping
08-24-2005, 11:43 PM
Don't do it bob been there now 2 times in a row same customer she is a nut case and has to be in control so rather then let me pick my times this is what happened. Year one the pools guys are coming to close the pool and remove a small in ground tank so I get to wait till the end of Sept for no reason at all. Year two the tennis court guys are resurfacing so you guessed it this time Oct then her leaves come down and kill off what I did manage to grow. This is a 50 man hour fall clean up and I take out 30 yards of leaves after sucking them if that gives you an idea how dumb waiting is. This year I flat out told itís going to be early Sept and I donít give a dame who walks on it.

daveintoledo
08-24-2005, 11:52 PM
then i wouldn't bother, not going to grow where i live in October, early September right, i know thats the answer, establish the lawn well before the first frost, preferably after i charge him for aeration... hahahaha....

i hope I'm close :)

Guthrie&Co
08-24-2005, 11:56 PM