PDA

View Full Version : Walkway... need some advice

Lawnworks
08-31-2005, 08:38 AM
I have got a job this weekend that involves putting step stones into the side of the hill pictured. The stones are about 4-6" tall and are almost like a larger flagstone in shape. I have told the customer I have no experience and will charge accordingly, and she is going to save big bucks. Do I start from the bottom? What should I use as a base for these stones? Any other info I need to know?

http://www.lawnsite.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=41459&stc=1

http://www.lawnsite.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=41460&stc=1

http://www.lawnsite.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=41461&stc=1

sheshovel
08-31-2005, 11:13 AM
You should pass on this work,
steps up a hill that steep should be done by someone with expierience doing that kind of work.
Should a step you installed fail when someone steps on it,you could open yourself up to a lawsuit and worse,someone could get badly hurt.
My advice to you is to do a few more smaller jobs ... with less steep
steps before trying a job like this.Or get some practice first.

plus I would have a hard time advising without a pic of the stone you are going to use

Lawnworks
08-31-2005, 11:13 PM
I have taken the job, and will work on it till it is right. What do I need to use to level and set the stone in the hill? Crush and run... sand? Do I need to compact it?

buffalo bill
08-31-2005, 11:21 PM
You should pass on this work,
steps up a hill that steep should be done by someone with expierience doing that kind of work.
Should a step you installed fail when someone steps on it,you could open yourself up to a lawsuit and worse,someone could get badly hurt.
My advice to you is to do a few more smaller jobs ... with less steep
steps before trying a job like this.Or get some practice first.

plus I would have a hard time advising without a pic of the stone you are going to use
You were too late, sheshovel :)