PDA

View Full Version : New guy... First try. Advice please.

DavesLawnCarePlus
09-01-2005, 12:09 PM
Hi there.

I've been reading this forum for quite some time now and finally have a chance to try out some hardscaping. I have a customer who wants a walkway installed from his front door that will corner around his flower bed (out three and a half feet from house) and then slope down to his driveway (a distance of about ten feet with a drop of about a 30 inches). The guy knows I have never done anything like this before and just wants to pay for materials in exchange for being the test subject. I was originally thinking irregular flagstone with hammered edges but now I'm leaning toward using standard pavers in a staggered pattern. What are the pros and cons of each? Do you folks suggest anything different. All help is greatly appreciated and I will show photos when I begin working there. I suspect the job to take about six hours with a two man crew and a plate tamper,shovels,rakes, and a wheelbarrow. I was thinking the walkway would be less than forty inches wide... but as I said.. I am open to any suggestions.

Thank you for your help.

MarcusLndscp
09-10-2005, 01:37 PM
30" of drop over 10 feet is a lot. I would suggest that you incorporate a few stairs in the walk at some point or else in the winter you will essentially have an ice ramp that you won't be able to walk up. Also you need to excavate and install a new base if you want the walk to last. I'm not sure how long the total walkway is...is it 10' total or just the last section 10'? Pics would help to describe what you are doing. I'm guessing it's longer than 10'. You'll need concrete sand/stonedust, edging, spikes, fabric. Oh and I hope you make some kind of cash on the job.

NNJLandman
09-10-2005, 02:04 PM