PDA

View Full Version : Tree pruning

BenchMark Landscaping
09-12-2005, 12:08 AM
My dad's next door neighbor wants me to prune their tree some...I was going to charge by the hour...$30 an hour...

my mom told me that I should charge more...:D

anyways, I was wondering what yall think I should charge per hour...it will require a chainsaw, that I have, and a ladder that I also have...
I was also wondering if yall think I should give a discount to them because they are my parent's neighbors...my parents told me to charge them what I would charge anyone else...

thanks for the help...

radracer
09-12-2005, 01:18 AM
This is my first year as well. I like to at least get $35.00- $40.00 an hour (it depends on where you live) but, don't forget to add dump fees and traveling time to and from dump and unloading time as well. Hope this helps

out4now
09-12-2005, 01:42 AM
;) Is that all you can get in that area? You should be at least double or more that. Don't work from a ladder. You're asking for trouble.

sheshovel
09-12-2005, 01:51 AM
Well it dosent take long to cut off some limbs.If you know what you are doing charge by the job,not the hour.I suggest you do some reasearch on pruning mature tree's before you take on this work.There is more skill involved that you might think and some knowlage of the proper way to prune a tree is a neccesity here.Look on treesaregood.com

Coffeecraver
09-12-2005, 04:57 AM
The first thing you should consider is do you need to prune. Reasons to prune include to remove dead branches, remove crowded or rubbing limbs, or to eliminate hazards. Trees also are pruned to increase light penetration to the ground so that lower level plants like grass will receive more sun and grow better. For grass this is only a temporary fix and it is recommended that shady areas be used as beds instead of grass lawn.