PDA

View Full Version : Slope

mak2
09-18-2005, 09:54 AM
this is my first year (actually since mid august) in hte buisness. I have learned a lot from this site but I have yet another question I have not seen directly addressed. How much slope does it take to flip a ZTR mower? I have a ditch in front of a church that is very long. I have a 21" I have been mowing it with which adds about 35 min to mowing time. I just wonder if I am being too paranoid. How do you determaine if the slope is dangerous to mow? My z goes up and down it eaisly without slipping.

MOturkey
09-18-2005, 10:48 AM
"Slope" and "ditch" are pretty subjective terms. What is steep for one person isn't hardly a bump for someone else. Normally, a ditch isn't a real problem, unless the sides are extremely steep, because you don't normally have far to slide if something goes awry. If the ditch is 15 feet deep, then that is another matter, but if you think it is safe, always work into the bottom of the ditch, either approaching from the end, other side, whatever works, sometimes even backing in at an angle, and mow a strip. Then you can gradually work your way UP the sides, if it is too steep, you'll have trouble keeping control.

If you start at the top, and it is too steep, then things can get nasty in a hurry. Better to always start at the bottom so you don't have far to slide if you lose traction. ZTR's can be turned over, and I don't know what you are operating, but if you are easy on the controls, and use the lower wheel to apply power, using the upper to mostly just steer, with a light touch, in my experience, you'll slide long before there is a chance of rolling.

Just use your head and if it "feels" unsafe, it probably is.

mak2
09-18-2005, 12:06 PM