PDA

View Full Version : i need to customize my tailgate somehow

The Curious Porpoise
09-20-2005, 03:14 AM
first off, excuse any of my questions if they seem elementary or fundumental to any of u-- my apologies, but i'm new to this business:

my trailer's tailgate is just like most, having a couple beams going up and down with the mesh metal grate that goes across it. whenever i step on the metal mesh and not the frame, the mesh bends inward. i'm 200 lbs. but obviously any bigger mowers are gonna be even more stress on this metal mesh. is the mesh gonna weaken over time and eventually need to be re-welded or fixed in the future? because if that is the case, then i think i might do the ole' 1/2 sheet of plywood over the mesh to distribute the weight more evenly and eliminate any future repairs... let me know if this is a problem area for people over time...

also, i have a 48" WB w/o any type the floating feature on the deck.... ergo, every single time i back my mower off the tailgate the middle front of the mower slams onto the large pin that hold the tailgate onto the trailer. i then have to apply downward force on the mower's handles to lift the mower into the air slightly to allow myself to further back the mower down and onto the ground... any else have any similar problems? i just hope that some one knows what i'm talking about and i'm not the only one... i would just like to streamline the whole process of loading and unloading my mower from the trailer... i had the idea of attaching an angle iron onto the very top of the tailgate in order to eliminate (or at least lessen) the "lip" that is created from the pavement and the top of the tailgate

thoughts? prior experiences?

Brianslawn
09-20-2005, 04:34 AM
plywood on the the gate... yeah thats going to suk some gas. theres different thicknesses of mesh (expanded metal). mine.. unless im driving the kubota up it constantly, doesnt bend. maybe after a dozen years... you have to fix it... fix it right then.