PDA

View Full Version : Aerate and Weed n Feed

Laner
09-22-2005, 12:45 PM
Does anyone aerate, spread granular fertilizer and then spray weed control on a lawn during one visit?

GreenUtah
09-22-2005, 03:51 PM
Is the question, can you do this and still get results? The answer to that question is, of course. That begs another question though, if you are going to spray the lawn for weeds, why aren't you just tank mixing your fert with that and doing it in one pass?

Laner
09-22-2005, 08:57 PM
I don't currently have a large tank for applying the fert. I have a small sprayer (25 gal) that is 3 point hitch mounted to my garden tractor. With that tank, thought I would be spending more time filling than applying product. Just getting into this part of the business this year even though I have been caring for my own lawn for several years. Which brings me to my next question....
What is the best sprayer (hose and reel) for the money? Any suggestions?

TOMMY1115
09-23-2005, 10:02 AM
There are quite a few good tanks out there. Some of those companies that I am familiar with may not be in your area though. One company that I'm sure is Lesco. They have a pretty good variety and selection.

One recommendation, regardless of how many lawns you have right now, buy for the future, not right now. You may only have enough lawns for a 50 gallon tank now, but in 2-3 years you will hopefully have enough for a 200 gallon. Why spend $3000 2-3 years later on top of the $2000 you spent now, when you can spend an extra 1000 now and provide for the future?

GreenUtah
09-23-2005, 11:40 AM