PDA

View Full Version : tips on zero turn

armorl&s
09-23-2005, 03:18 PM
this is my first year with a zero turn mower toro z master 62". i am having trouble in tight areas with the rear tires tearing up the lawn. is this possibly a air pressure problem any help would be greatly appreciated :help: :help: :help:

Maitland Man
09-23-2005, 04:41 PM
you've got to turn it around like you are in a wheelchair....one wheel goes forward, the other backwards.

Dennis

Pecker
09-23-2005, 04:43 PM
Yep, have to do the classic "Y" turn.

NickN
09-23-2005, 04:51 PM
I'll try to explain.This is the easiest method I've come up with as far as explaining.
Slow down to a crawl near the end of your run.
If you want to turn around to your left,let go of your right stick and slowly pull back on your left stick.Enough so that your left tire starts rolling in reverse.Never stop the tire from moving.
Once you get turned around,push your left stick forward,as well as your right stick.
You need to leave one side(the opposing side to the direction you're turning) going straight while your reversing the other side(the side your turning into).

jbell113
09-23-2005, 05:02 PM
I just bought one myself 2 weeks ago and I have the same problem.

Tonyr
09-23-2005, 08:28 PM
the hydro system isn't very forgiving on the toro, you have to be ultra gentle with the levers. also, the stock tyres, they don't grip well so the machine tends to lose traction and scuff very easy. tyres with more grip actually scuff less, hard to believe yes, but true....so dunno why they use that particular carsyle tyre model, it sucks.

and as said, don't zero turn, but more a 'Y' turn. they really should be called YTR's, not ZTR's , lol.

BALDEAGLE
09-23-2005, 10:04 PM
if ya use that groovy little search feature, you'll likely find hundreds of hits on that subject. :p

jgtxusa
09-23-2005, 10:18 PM
Listen to these guys. Dont lock up the inside tire.

Envy Lawn Service
09-23-2005, 10:28 PM