PDA

View Full Version : Crab Grass

blue bull
09-23-2005, 11:03 PM
I have been applying Dimension in Feb and March for control of crab grass. Many lawns have excessive break through that started showing up in July. How many times do you guys apply Pre M and when? Located in transition zone in North Carolina. Tall Fescue!

Mscotrid
09-24-2005, 12:52 PM
Let me first state that I'm not an expert in Carolina turf or climate. With that being said, my experience in the transition zone would have your applications too early for season long control.

You didn't metion rates of AI applied. Get a little bit more explicit on rates of application and we might be able to offer a better answer. I'm a big believer of using the highest label rate on all products I use. Spend a little up front can save you thousands is lost customers and service calls.

mcambrose
09-24-2005, 11:42 PM
I'm in north Alabama, so our climates may be similar. When I use Dimension, I put it out later than other chemicals because it has some activitiy on small crabgrass. I put my first application out in early april and my second at the end of May. You just put it out too early. You may prefer mid march and mid may.

ThreeWide
09-25-2005, 10:48 AM
When applying in March, you will need enough AI to provide nearly 6 months control. With Fescue, you want your pre-emergent to expire by the end of August in your area. This will give you the opportunity to overseed in September.

This is why so many people criticize pre-emergents in general, because knowing the application rate is critical. You need to understand exactly how long your weed prevention window needs to be when applying.

Dimension is sold in several different percentages of AI, such as 0.10, 0.15, and 0.21 percent. The app rate depends on the AI you purchase.

blue bull
09-28-2005, 06:52 AM