PDA

View Full Version : Standing out

The landscaper
10-02-2005, 10:00 PM
What makes you stand out from the competition?
What would your list of things be to make you stand out from the million other companies in your same town. In standing out, I would want everyone in town to recognize my name and not be hesitant to pay a few extra bucks for my quality service.

Mower For Less
10-02-2005, 10:10 PM
This is an excellent question and one that I have been wrestling with for the last 3 years. I am going to be very interested in seeing some of the responses to this one. This is a very difficult industry to differentiate yourself from the competition, but I try to be professional in both my attitude and business practices. Return phonecalls promptly, do quality work, bill regularly (and with return envelopes!), use updated equipment, and a willingness to go the extra mile for a customer when needed.

These are things that seem difficult to put into words for advertising purposes. Word of mouth has been my best ally.

The landscaper
10-02-2005, 10:38 PM
It seems like a lot of things to get this point across cost big bucks. I like to try and keep my overhead down as much as possible but who knows....i will always be interested to see some of these lists.

sheshovel
10-02-2005, 11:07 PM
Your work should stand out and that will make you stand out.
Your way with people will make you stand out,take the time to personaly communicate face to face with your customers at least once a month

1MajorTom
10-02-2005, 11:23 PM
2 things we always hear:
Thanks for returning my phone call, the last 3 guys never called back.
and
You guys are very dependable, you always show up on time.

flam41
10-02-2005, 11:34 PM
only 3 lco in town aerate, none advertise, It is the only one who does. Gets me in alot of yards I wouldnt heve gotten chance to be in. Simple thing, if you can sell the jobyou alredy seem to go the next step from just mowing, to the health of the turf.

olderthandirt