PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding wall and septic feild..

mrusk
10-09-2005, 08:40 PM
I am suppose to start a big project in the morning. I just want to run this past you guys guys.

I am building a retaining was in a backyard. The wall will be 3 feet high. Righ now the back was is just a step hill. My wall will run parraell to the house. Between the house and where my wall will be constructed is the septic feild. I will be bring in about 20 yards of fill to level off the yard after i build the wall. I will be putting dirt on top of the septic feild. I just want to make sure added 3 feet of dirt on part of a feild will damage it or anything. This back yard is steep as heck, i do not even know if i can drive a skid steer accross it. A septic feild has to be installed level to begin with. If it was installed level there must be like 4 feet of fill on the onside of it.

What do you guys think? I am not an expert on septics.

Matt

olderthandirt
10-09-2005, 08:47 PM
theres about a dozen differnt kinds of septic fields. some have lateral lines that need to leach and adding dirt on the top can cause problems. With thee fall it sounds like an aireation system with just one line going down the hill. If it is then you won't hurt it. But local codes call for so many ft of leaching tile covered by so much soil on most systems. So check the local health board they should know what system was installed and the code that you can follow

MarcusLndscp
10-09-2005, 11:19 PM