PDA

View Full Version : Made a small mistake

coxslawncare
10-11-2005, 12:17 AM
This is my first year in business. I made the mistake of buying a toro timecutter z 16hp 42 inch cut ztr. It cuts good on a yard but if you put it against a lawn it struggles if that makes sense. If the grass is thick(not so much tall as thick) it leaves a strip down the center of the deck of uncut grass. The mower has the mulch kit on it and did it without the mulch kit. I was thinking possible just change the motor out for a bigger motor would help. I fthat would work what motor can I use the one on it is made by briggs and stratton but says made by briggs for toro. Kinda looks like the Intek motor but not really sure. Any help would be appreciated. Just thinkin I might be able to improve it for less than I would loose sellin it. And also I dont expect it to be as good as any commercial mower just want it to be able to cut grass

Mowingman
10-11-2005, 09:24 AM
Bigger engine will not help. That is a homeowner type machine and the deck is crap. I believe Consumers Report magazine rated them near the bottom of their ratings when they tested them against other homeowner machines.
Dump it for whatever you can get, and shop around for a commercial quality machine. AND, do not buy anything you can not take out for a demo.

Runner
10-11-2005, 09:38 AM