PDA

View Full Version : Tamp sand after screeding??

Redbear
10-13-2005, 10:31 PM
I'm new to the driveway game and am working on just our second one. Done many patios and walks and never tamped concrete sand after screeding. With a driveway does anyone tamp after screeding sand and then top up with a second layer after. I'm guessing it can help to reduce the amount of settling the driveway may do under vehicle pressure but I'm not sure I understand the procedure that is taken to do this. Can anyone elaborate??

cgland
10-13-2005, 10:47 PM
The ONLY difference between driveways and patios is the base thickness. You should never tamp sand under any conditions.

Chris

Rex Mann
10-13-2005, 11:17 PM
We tamp our sand after the pavers are installed.
Most guys that pre-tamp the sand, are using it to
makeup variances in the aggregate. And, the variances are
usually way more the the allowable + or - 3/8-inch over 10-feet.

Peace,

Rex

http://PaversInstalled.Com

Squizzy246B
10-14-2005, 07:14 AM
The ONLY difference between driveways and patios is the base thickness. You should never tamp sand under any conditions.

Chris

Chris, Why Not??

neversatisfiedj
10-14-2005, 07:32 AM
Never tamp sand , look at ICPI standards.

jd boy
10-14-2005, 07:37 AM
if you tamp the sand it will not be drawn up between the joints when you compact the pavers

Squizzy246B
10-14-2005, 07:49 AM
OK, for pavers, got it, right, sorry:blush:

DVS Hardscaper
10-14-2005, 11:15 AM
Ok.

Lets go a little further.

Lets talk about the purpose of the bedding sand, and then we can talk about why you never compact the sand.

The bedding sand is NOT the foundation of the interlocking pavement. Regardless if it is a walk, patio, pool deck, driveway, loading dock, staging area at an airport, etc.

The bedding sand is just that! It is sand that *beds* the pavers!

Ok, now the proper name of pavers is: 'Interlocking Concrete Pavers'