PDA

View Full Version : Ryan Matoway vs. Lesco Renovator?

Redbear
10-15-2005, 01:28 AM
I've been using the Ryan for about 7 years now, time to get a new one. I've been very happy with results but wish it was a little easier operating on small residential properties. Considering a Lesco for this purpose but I have concerns about seed placement vs. the Ryan as I'm not as confident that the box drop method makes the same soil contact and therefore gives the same success as the Ryan disc placement might. I'm sure on bare soil it is fine but we upsell overseeding a lot and that means doing thin lawns or even thicker lawns to introduce a new variety. Any thoughts on what the success may be like. Would really like to hear from those of you using the Lesco, especially if you have experience with the Ryan as well.

spray guy
10-15-2005, 06:53 PM
I also have a ryan lawnaire 28 which I use alot. season lawn care market. The ryan mataway is a heck of a machine, my friend has a lesco rennovater he has only used it one time and its been in storage for years. I still own my mataway and I use it occasionally.

6'7 330
10-15-2005, 07:08 PM
We purchased two matteways with 10 horse Briggs engines, in 1996! The matteway is a very good machine, but as you said rough operating on small props. It gets very good results .Down side is, for the workers it is a bear to operate all day long. And it has a lot of belts.

The renovator is much easier to maneuver on those small props, like on the south side of Chicago. It much easier for workers and they get less fatigued after a long day. The results from the renovator are first class; we always get excellent germination on existing turf.

TURF DOCTOR
10-15-2005, 08:39 PM
We have the lesco very pleased starts on 1 or 2 pulls 99 percent of the seed will come up self propelled is the way to go the seed box should hold more seed my 2 cents i highly recommend the lesco.

FINN
10-16-2005, 11:07 PM