PDA

View Full Version : Demo'd New Excavator today

vntgrcr
10-17-2005, 08:24 PM
The local Mustang dealer caught wind of my being in the market for a 12K lb excavator to replace my 331 Bobcat. He dropped off a 5003 11K lb machine. It was bigger than the 331, but I didn't expect much from it. I put it to work for about 1 hr and was very impressed. Now I have never used a brand new machine before, and have used CAT 312, 315's, but for it's size this machine was very nice. Great visibility, pretty good power. Will be demo'ing a CAT 305 this week so it will be an interesting comparison. The Kubota rep won't even bring one out, too bad, I have heard good things about those. What have you guys heard of the Mustang? A little concerned about parts and service. Plus, $55K is a little steep, especially going into winter. Will report back. Thanks for listening to me.
David

Tigerotor77W
10-17-2005, 08:49 PM
I think you should try out the 305CR from Cat and the 337 from Bobcat, is what I think. :D

In all honesty, I'm not sure about Mustang excavators. I believe they're made by a European company (as are Gehl mini ex's), but I'm not sure entirely on the truthfulness of that. However, the Mustang dealer will probably provide great support and will be looking to get you into the seat of a Mustang SSL in the future if you sign on as a Mustang mini-ex guy.

2004F550
10-17-2005, 10:57 PM
Look at the Bobcat 435....we tried the 305 too...we got the Bobcat 435, and we own mostly Cat equipment. Price was great and we got good deal on attachments....def. look at Bobcat..had much more bucket break out too, like the 305 was missing something?....

Squizzy246B
10-18-2005, 09:28 AM
Mustang SSL are dominant in the market down here but we don't see the mini-x's.

I am very much a "if it aint a CAT its a dog" person but this machine has changed my mind in terms of build quality and reliability. The travel pedals suck though. Its worth a look and the mustang has the same engine.

Gravel Rat