PDA

View Full Version : New Lawn Installation

LazyWeekends
03-24-2001, 03:27 PM
I am fairly new in this business and need some help. I have been asked to give a quote on establishing lawn at a recently completed home. The area to be grassed is about 2 acres. Some topsoil will be needed with subsequent grading and levelling. Given the size of the yard, I am looking for suggestions as to what equipment I'll need to do the job and what sort time frame I am looking at. Hope someone can give me some pointers.

lawnboy82
03-24-2001, 03:46 PM
you are gonna need a tractor with a york rake. you are gonna need a lot of top soil. if this is for a builder then you can skimp on the top soil because by nature they are cheap S.O.B's you are gonna need something like 4 inches of good loam or more. seed (the cheaper the better) if you read the tag and it says that it is 56% k blue grass and 40% fine fescue or whatever.. and 1% weed seeds and whatever... get the one where you get the most germination from your seed. you can try either penn mulch or shredded straw. i have found that to work very well for me. um what else? get the seed, hay, topsoil, a couple of day laborers, york rake, not even a week hopefully provided there isnt many rocks and or much earth moving.... maybe 2 days, 3 days?

Fantasy Lawns
03-24-2001, 04:09 PM
here ya go

http://www.sod.com/html/installation.html

paul
03-24-2001, 04:11 PM
Not many people are going to put 1000 cu yds of topsoil on this size of yard. Most times topsoil is striped off and placed near by for the excavator to spread.

First thing is to get a topo of the property so you know where the water is goin to drain to then make sure you grade it to that topo.

A good seed will help a blend of blue grasses and perennial rye grasses this way your lawn will be stronger.