PDA

View Full Version : Trying to learn new ways of garage security

Popper357
11-02-2005, 01:14 AM
My single car garage is my handyman/landscape tool storage area and I'm worried about what would happen if my tools are stolen. I get nervous this time of year and my garage is packed with expensive tools. So I want to learn more ways of sercuring it. Security systems of some type that will work for just the garage or the whole house. My house is hardwired for a security system (brain is bad and everything is old) but the security cos all want a 3 year contract.

I'm not planning on living here three more years so I want to install some type of alarm myself. And if I can start cheap with a garage only alarm I'd be happy. Anyone have a garage alarm or have installed their own house system? I've seen the wireless alarms on ebay and wonder if those work? Any help is apreciated.
Thanks

mak2
11-02-2005, 07:35 AM
In a past life I was an insurance agent. Statisically if you have a Doberman or other dog your place just doesnt get broken into by a stranger, unless you have a special reason, like diamonds or specialized equiptment. If bad guys can go to the house next door that does not have a dog they will. It is just eaiser. Any dog that barks or bites is a deterrent. On the other hand, I have had dobies for the last 12 years. They are the smartest, eaisest to train, great mannered dogs. They are incredibly loyal and territoryal. My agent was suppose to report me to the company 10 years ago for having "vicious dogs" it is their fear of liability. A dobie can cost an insurnace company more in one bite than it can save in money lost in robberies over 10 years. But I never had to worry about my kids or wife when I worked nights.

Popper357
11-02-2005, 09:06 AM
Nice