PDA

View Full Version : what comes first, soldier course or body of pavers

waltero
11-03-2005, 10:47 PM
I have a walkway that I am doing right now. I will be done with the base soon and before I start laying pavers I was wondering if anyone could help me out as to the best way to proceed.

The walkway is a 45 degree Herringbone (Unilock Rustic Red 4"x8") with a soldier course of grey. It will be aproximately 45 ft straight run with an additional 12-15ft 90 degree curve at the end. there is going to be alot of cutting and I am still new at this so I am looking for the best way to cut. I have a new stihl TS700 with a new diamond blade. I bought a few tools from pavetech to help me out on this job. I will list them below

http://www.pavetech.com/newtools/4x45marker.shtm
http://www.pavetech.com/newtools/WedgieMark.shtm
http://www.pavetech.com/newtools/p_scribe.shtm
http://www.pavetech.com/newtools/quckdraw.shtm

#1 Now I wasn't sure if a wet gas powered table saw would be a good way to go. I work by myself so I will be doing all of the cutting and I was thinking that I would have better control on a table saw vs the stihl. Now remember that I am still green and many people might be better with a demo saw but I am not so confident that I can cut all the small pieces as well as on the table saw. I also figure that alot of the pieces sould be repetative because of the herringbone pattern, that is the cuts on each side sould be roughly the same.