PDA

View Full Version : lawn damage from tractor tires

tractrpowr45
11-05-2005, 08:21 PM
Hi, I'm new to lawnsite and I enjoy reading the informative discussions.
I am going to be starting up my own landscaping business next spring
and I have a question. I already have a 4wd compact diesel tractor with a
loader and rototiller which I want to use for landscaping jobs such as
moving mulch and topsoil and digging the base for paver patios. The
only problem is, it has ag tires which have great traction but I'm thinking
they might tear up customers lawns. What kind of equipment do you
other landscapers use and what do you do about turf damage? Thanks
for your advice.

hoskm01
11-05-2005, 08:41 PM
If you're doing a major project you could just say screw it, use the AG tires, tear up the turf in as small an area as possible, and repair it when you're done. Or, get some turf tires, at least in the rear, if you dont really need the traction. It all depends on what conditions youre going to use them in. Get yourself into a muddy mess with the turf tires, you could be pulling it out with the truck, but Ive found them to be pretty reliable and useful.

JRAZ
11-05-2005, 10:05 PM
We just try to keep the damage minimal and soil/reseed as necessary. There are sheets you can lay down over the areas if you are are so inclined.

slicksilverado01
11-05-2005, 10:16 PM
if the tractor can go into 2wd it should do ok. a local LCO has a kubota bx23 for moving mulch and small landscape and the ag tires on it do not tear up the ground at all unless it is in 4wd or the rear diff is locked.

bigandy
11-05-2005, 10:23 PM
We use a Power-Trac 422 and because it is articulated and hydrostatic, it wont put a single scuff on a yard unless you spin, ever. I would recommend a higher hp model because it is a little underpowered but with all the attachments and the versatility, it is great.

slicksilverado01
11-05-2005, 10:28 PM