PDA

View Full Version : adding hardscape to lawn service

scagwildcat
11-30-2005, 02:10 PM
ive been landscaping for 6 years now, im at the point where im thinking that mowing lawns doesnt cut the mustard so to speak, i would like to start installing small retaining walls or raised beds using blocks, i have done it in the past, both for myself and family/friends, but ive never gotten paid for it as a service offered to a client, i was wondering if it was a possible venture for one person to do both? also what would i need as far as tools ? i have most tools needed, but a skid steer, and a plate compactor, i just wanted to do small walls, kind of use it as fill in work when the lawns die out in the summer........ thanks for your advise............

Kohls Landscaping Co
11-30-2005, 03:06 PM
Start out with lining up some smaller jobs and work your way up. Don't let not owning the right equipment stop you. You should be able to rent any piece of equipment you need from a rental yard. Just make sure that the customer is paying for the equipment.
Also, I'd recommend taking on jobs in the summer/fall if you're swamped in the spring with mowing. That way if a job takes longer your not going over on rental fees compared to what you bid the job out at.

Typical tools for retaining walls would include:
Some sort of plate compactor
Cut off saw
excavating equipment
levels

cedarcroft
12-06-2005, 05:51 AM